C’River Assembly Confirms Gov. Otu’s Nominees for State Planning Commission

The  Cross River State House of Assembly has confirmed Governor Bassey Otu’s nominees for appointment as vice Chairman and commissioner of the State Planning Commission.

This was a sequel to the Assembly’s consideration of the report of the Committee on Judiciary, Public Service Matters, Public Petitions, and Conflict Resolution presented by its Chairman and Deputy Majority Leader of the House, Rt, Hon. Davies Etta.

According to the chairman of the screening committee, the nominees were invited to appear before the Committee for screening on the 8th of May, 2024, where they were “subjected to a rigorous question and answer session he added that Gov. Otu’s appointments are in agreement with section 2 of the State law which provides that;
“The membership of the commission shall be drawn from the 3 Senatorial Districts of the State”

The member repressing the Yala 2 state constituency described the commission as a round peg in a round hole, that, Gov. Bassey Otu made one of the best choices and he believes, that with Dr. Bong Duke as the Chief Executive Officer, the commission will see the light of the day.

The Deputy Speaker of the House, Hon. Sylvester Agabi, described the commission as the best, that the people in the Commission have performed very well in their previous positions and they are capable of transforming the commission to a higher standard.

The speaker in a remark, charged the commission to work in synergy to make sure the commission moves to a higher level and works optimally for the growth and development of Cross Riverians.

The Speaker maintained that, during the confirmation of nominees for the vice Chairman/CEO and Commissioners of the State Planning Commission held at the Chambers of the State Assembly. He commended the Governor for choosing a well-read, exposed Dr. Bong Duke as Vice Chairman of the Commission and added that, with his wealth of experience, and exposure the Commission will not make mistakes that will mar the Commission and the administration.

Those confirmed were:
1. Dr Bong Duke – Vice Chairman/Chief Executive Officer
2. Barr. Bassey Okim – Commissioner 1 (Economic Planning)
3. Prof. Godwin Amanke – Commissioner 2 (Development Assistance Coordination)
4. Dr Mrs Mary Julius Egbai – Commissioner 3 (Project Inspectorate)
5. Chief Emmanuel Eniang Offiong – Commissioner 4 (Research and Statistics)

Matthew Okache
Chief Press Secretary to the Speaker

Facebook Comments Box
Spread the love
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments