The Speaker of the State House of Assembly, Rt Hon Elvert Ayambem has sworn in Achadu, Ogiji Idagu Martins and Ashkia Pius Ashas as Members representing Yala 2 and Obanlikwu State Constituencies respectively.

The swearing-in which was done during plenary followed the receipt of the Independent National Electoral Commission’s (INEC) Certificate of Return by the Assembly.

The INEC letter signed by the Resident Electoral Commissioner, Prof. Gabriel O Yomere states in part..”sequel to the just concluded re-run election held on 3rd February, 2024, the following candidates emerged winners and were duly returned elected.. Obanlikwu, Ashkia Pius Ashas, PDP. Yala 2 Achadu Ogiji Idagu Martins, PDP.”

In his remarks during the swearing-in, Rt Hon Ayambem congratulated the duo and charged them to justify the confidence reposed in them by their respective constituents.

Speaking to journalists shortly after plenary, the newly sworn-in Members expressed gratitude to God, the Speaker and Members as well as their constituents for their victory at the rerun elections.

According to Hon Achadu; ” I am very happy to be back. I thank the Speaker and my colleagues for their warm reception. I am prepared to fully commence the legislative business. I want to assure my constituents that I will be effective and productive. I thank them for their votes and support.”

In the same vein, Achas pledged his commitment to the service of his constituents thus; ” I thank my people for their confidence in me. I promise not to disappoint them. There should have no fear. I will provide effective representation to them.”

Facebook Comments Box
Spread the love
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments